ANOC Awards 2018 honour Shaun White and Bjoern Daehli

The ANOC Awards 2018 took place at the Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo, as the world gathered to celebrate and recognise some of the biggest names in winter sport.

Athletes that lit up the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games were honoured in-person at the ceremony alongside some of the most iconic winter Olympians of all time. Among those honoured were athletes in the FIS disciplines. Snowboarder Shaun White was named the “Best Male Athlete of PyeongChang 2018” and Cross-Country legend Bjørn Dæhli as an “Outstanding Athlete”.

There were also awards for the most successful NOC of the Games was won by Norway, and the Inspiring Hope through Sport award which was given to the unified Korean women’s ice hockey team. Athletes from the Republic of Korea and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea were in attendance to accept the award.

Snowboard icon Shaun White said: “To be recognised by ANOC as the best male athlete from PyeongChang 2018 is a great feeling, especially considering the outstanding talent on display at the Games. After missing out on a third consecutive Olympic gold in 2014, I went into my final halfpipe run in PyeongChang knowing I needed to do something special to reclaim the Olympic title. Winning the gold medal, which was Team USA’s 100th at the Winter Games, is something I will never forget.”

Cross-Country Skiing legend Bjørn Dæhli added “I am grateful to ANOC for presenting me with this prestigious award, which adds to the very happy memories I have from Japan. My final Olympic Winter Games was of course in Nagano in 1998, winning my eighth Olympic gold. At the time, this medal made me the most successful Winter Olympic athlete in history and remains one the proudest moments of my life. It is important for former athletes to help the development of sport in any way they can, and I will use this award as a means of inspiration to young, aspiring athletes in Norway and all over the world”.

Representatives from 206 NOCs and stakeholders throughout Olympic Movement attended the fantastic fifth edition of the event which was a truly global celebration of sport.  

The ANOC Awards were created to thank NOCs and their athletes for their dedication to the Olympic Movement. The winners of each award were selected by the ANOC Jury, comprised of representatives from each of the Continental Associations, the ANOC Athletes’ Commission Chair, AIOWF President and ANOC Secretary General.

The ANOC General Assembly was attended by a number of FIS representatives in various capacities: Vice Presidents Janez Kocijancic, President of the European Olympic Committees, Aki Murasato as Vice-President International Relations Toyko 2020 Olympic Games Organising Committee and Mats Arjes, President Swedish NOC and Stockholm 2026 Olympic Winter Games Candidate; Council Member Roman Kumpost, Vice-President Czech NOC and Sarah Lewis, FIS and AIOWF (Association of International Olympic Winter Sports Federations) Secretary General .