Coaching Changes in Alpine Skiing

Here is a summary of the main changes in Alpine Skiing that have been announced to date.

In Austria, a number of structural changes were announced at a press conference on 26th April 2017. Sepp Brunner was appointed as new men’s speed coach, replacing Florian Winkler. Brunner was active with Swiss-Ski for the past 20 years and coached many athletes to top performances including downhill World Champion Beat Feuz.

Andy Evers, 49-year-old Austrian and former coach of Liechtenstein’s Tina Weirather, will take over Brunner’s role of men’s speed coach in Switzerland.

In Liechtenstein, Karl-Heinz Pichler took over Andy Evers’ position as head coach on the ladies' side. The 47-year-old Austrian is leaving the young and talented Austrian speed team including newly crowned super-G World Champion Nicole Schmidhofer.

Claude Crétier, the French coach of a number of top athletes including Alexis Pinturault and Victor Muffat-Jeandet, decided to retire from World Cup coaching. There has been no information about his replacement yet.

The German Ski Team also announced a change, with Jürgen Graller joining the coaching staff as new ladies’ head coach. The 46-year-old from Schladming is replacing Markus Anwander, who has been responsible for the group over the past three years.

Another significant change happened in the U.S. line-up. Veteran coaches John McBride and Chip White will take over as the new speed coaches, on the men’s and ladies’ side respectively. Both have earned several World Cup wins, overall titles, World Championships and Olympic medals. Alex Hoedlmoser, former men’s speed coach, will return to the ladies’ side to provide strong support to Lindsey Vonn.

Meanwhile, Alberto Senigagliesi left the U.S. speed ladies after two years to take on the role of French speed head coach for the ladies. The 46-year-old coach from Italy is replacing Pierre-Yves Albrieux.

In Croatia, 78-year-old Ante Kostelic, father of famous Ivica and Janica, will be coaching the young Croatian brothers Elias and Samuel Kolega.