Nominations for International Matteo Baumgarten Award close 31st March 2018

The Matteo Baumgarten Award recognises athletes who strive to balance the demands of full-time study with their training and competition schedules.

Nominations are submitted through a country’s National Ski Association. Each nation may submit up to three nominations and athletes from Cross-Country, Ski Jumping, Nordic Combined, Alpine Skiing, Freestyle Skiing and Snowboarding are eligible.

Interested parties should contact their National Ski Association for the nomination form.

A list of all National Ski Associations contact information can be found here.

The Award, now in its 21st year, is in honour of Matteo Baumgarten who tragically passed away at an early age.

Within the FIS family the award is held in high regard with previous winners including Tanja Poutiainen (FIN), Tina Maze (SLO), Bernadette Schild (AUT) and Ramon Zenhäusern (SUI).

The winner will receive EUR 3,000 towards his or her studies and will be informed of their selection ahead of the presentation which will take place on the 22nd April in Bormio (ITA).

FIS encourages all athletes to take advantage of this opportunity.