Clear win for Takanashi in Chaikovsky

Sara Takanashi of Japan took the win in the first competition of the FIS Grand Prix Ladies Ski Jumping in Chaikovsky (RUS). The longest jump of the day to 106,0 meter gave Takanashi a huge lead already after round one.

Takanashi unbeatable
With 94,5 meter in the final and 246,3 points Takanashi was unbeatable today.Takanashi said: „I´ve had a good feeling for this hill, already since last year. I didn´t have problems with the conditions, especially in the first round it was very good for me.“31 points behind Finland’s Julia Kykkaenen delivered a big surprise on 2nd place. It was a career best for Kykkaenen, who jumped 93,0 and 95,0 meters. Kykkaenen said: „I am happy I could perform two good jumps today. My jumps improved over the summer. It was a nice competition today. The jury did a good job.“

Avvakumova on podium
On third place, local hero Irina Avvakumova presented the Russian fans with a great result. 88,5 and 93,0 meters gave her 212,4 points. Avvakumova said: „It is my home hill, so this podium means a lot to me. The crowd was great and helped me so much. For tomorrow I hope to be even better.“Lucile Morat of France, still 2n after the first round, missed out on the podium by 1,7 points and came in 4th after 93,5 and 91,0 meters.

Malsiner in top five
On 5th place Junior World Champion Manuela Malsiner performed her best result of the summer so far with 204,3 points.Maren Lundby, only 10th in the qualification, improved her performance and finished 6th with 196,1 points ahead of Maja Vtic o Slovenia and Japan´s Kaori Iwabuchi. Spela Rogelj and Juliane Seyfarth came in 9th and 10th.Still way to go to her best shape has Ema Klinec who came in 15th behind Elena Runggaldier, Ursa Bogataj, Anastasiya Barannikova and Yuka Seto.

Ringquist and Hendrickson scoring
Abby Ringquist and Sarah Hendrickson finished 16th and 18th for the USA, Taylor Henrich came in 17th for Canada. Daniela Haralambie scored for Romania on 19th place.

The second competition in Chaikovsky will be held on Sunday at 9.00 am (CET). The qualification starts one hour earlier.

Official result