US names 2018/19 alpine national team

The U.S. Ski Team announced its alpine nominations for the 2018-19 season at the end of last week. The top ski racers in the United States are named each year to the U.S. Ski Team. Nominations to the team are based on objective selection criteria using international rankings and head-to-head competition that can be reviewed .


Olympic champions Mikaela Shiffrin and Lindsey Vonn will lead a team of 22 athletes nominated to the A and B Teams heading into the 2018/19 season. In an impressive 2017/18 season, Shiffrin earned an Olympic gold in giant slalom and silver in alpine combined. She also secured the FIS Ski World Cup Overall title for the second-straight year as well as her fifth slalom title. Team veteran Vonn won Olympic bronze in downhill and five World Cup races last season, bringing her World Cup victory total to 82 and that much closer to Ingemar Stenmark’s once-elusive record of 86 victories. On the men’s side, Ted Ligety feels healthy and strong and team veterans Travis Ganong and Steven Nyman look to return to the slopes from injury. A promising crew of young athletes, including AJ Hurt and River Radamus, will look to capitalize on the opportunity to ski among the best in the world and make their mark.

An official team announcement will be made in the fall.

Women’s A Team

1. Breezy Johnson
2. Alice McKennis
3. Laurenne Ross
4. Mikaela Shiffrin
5. Lindsey Vonn
6. Jacqueline Wiles

Women’s B Team

1. Stacey Cook
2. AJ Hurt
3. Alice Merryweather
4. Nina O’Brien
5. Resi Stiegler

Men’s A Team

1. Travis Ganong
2. Ted Ligety
3. Steven Nyman    

Men’s B Team

1. Bryce Bennett
2. Tommy Biesemeyer
3. Ryan Cochran-Siegle
4. Tommy Ford
5. Jared Goldberg
6. Sam Morse
7. River Radamus
8. Luke Winters

The full nominations including selections to the C Team and Development Team are available here.

Release courtesy of U.S. Ski and Snowboard