Bjoergen notches another win

(Toblach, Italy) Norway's Marit Bjoergen gave herself an early Christmas present today.  She began the day in 4th place in the ladies' 10 km C Pursuit competition in Toblach, Italy.  By the end of the first 5 km lap she had made up the 22 second deficit she had to race leader Charlotte Kalla of Sweden and from there took control of the competition.  Along with her were four teammates Heidi Weng, Ragnhild Haga, Astrid Jacobsen and Ingvild Flugstad Oestberg.  Kalla was unable to match the Norwegian pace and fell back from the group early on the second lap.  

In the end it was only Oestberg and Weng that could match the pace of Bjoergen.  They all entered the finishing stretch close together but in the end it was Bjoergen taking the win by just 0.3 ahead of Oestberg in second and Weng in third +0.8 behind.  

Despite her 6th place finish today Kalla still remains the Overall World Cup leader by 98 points ahead of Oestberg.  With her win today Bjoergen has now jumped into the overall mix sitting in 4th position just 117 points back of Kalla.  


Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
After my performance yesterday I was not quite sure where my shape was. But my plan was to close the gap on Charlotte by the end of the first lap, which I did. It is great to win again and head to Christmas break with a victory. I will not compete until the Norwegian championships.

Ingvild Flugstad Oestberg (NOR)
It was a great team effort from the Norwegian team. Charlotte seemed to be struggling little bit with the grip. When we caught her we tried to keep the pace high. I felt amazing today. I had great skis and my shape is where it should be. I was little bit upset that yesterday I did not ski according to my plan. But today was great.

Heidi Weng (NOR)
It was a great Norwegian day today. I felt little bit tired after yesterday. I wanted to ski fast and keep the pace with Marit and Ingvild. I am happy I finished on the podium.


LADIES 10 km C Pursuit

1. BJOERGEN Marit NOR 1980 25:19.3
2. OESTBERG Ingvild Flugstad NOR 1990 +0.3
3. WENG Heidi NOR 1991 +0.8
4. JACOBSEN Astrid Uhrenholdt NOR 1987 +21.5
5. HAGA Ragnhild NOR FEB 1991 +31.8




1. KALLA Charlotte SWE 610 pts
2. OESTBERG Ingvild Flugstad NOR 512
3. WENG Heidi NOR 506