Nygaard and Norgren win La Sgambeda 2017


  • La Sgambeda XC skiing event in Livigno (Italy) today
  • The Visma Ski Classics series on the Italian tracks. Participants from 25 nations
  • Norway's Andreas Nygaard beats compatriots Torgeir Skare Thygesen and Stian Hoelgaard 
  • Britta Johansson Norgren leaves behind Katerina Smutna and Kari Vikhagen Gjeitnes

La Sgambeda XC skiing event took place in Livigno (Italy) today, for the 28th time in history. In the male event, Andreas Nygaard of Norway (1:20:41.2) managed to cross the finish line first ahead of countrymen Torgeir Skare Thygesen (1:20:41.3) e Stian Hoelgaard (1:20:41.9). 'I'm very happy – Nygaard said at the end – and proud of what I did today. It's been a very tough one, my strategy was to stay in the first group as long as I could and see what was the best thing to do in the last 200 meters. I enjoyed the course very much, weather and temperatures were great and so is the entire area here'. Two of the favorites today were Tord Asle Gjerdalen and Anders Aukland who closed 11th and 14th respectively.
On women's side, Britta Johansson Norgren of Sweden closed first (1:34:39.9) ahead of Katerina Smutna (1:34:40.5) e Kari Vikhagen Gjeitnes (1:34:43.2). 'Last year I had some problems at the very end – admitted Norgren today – but this time all went fine and I'm very happy at the end of the day. Livigno is fantastic and the course was perfectly set. I do like this challenge very much, I like competing on different distances as well.'

Participants of 25 nations enjoyed today's La Sgambeda, second leg of the Visma Ski Classics series, the long distance ski championship.

Info: www.lasgambeda.it

Download TV broadcast: www.broadcaster.it

Men's Results

1 Nygaard Andreas NOR Team Santander 1:20:41.2; 2 Skare Thygesen Torgeir NOR Team Oslo Sportslager - Rustad IL 1:20:41.3; 3 Hoelgaard Stian NOR Team Koteng 1:20:41.9; 4 Eide Pedersen Morten NOR Team BN Bank 1:20:42.2; 5 Kardin Oskar SWE Team Santander 1:20:42.4; 6 Byström Fredrik SWE Lager 157 Ski Team 1:20:42.6; 7 Moelmen Hoest Anders NOR Team Serneke 1:20:42.8; 8 Luusua Ari FIN Team Mäenpää 1:20:43.3; 9 Østensen Simen NOR Team BN Bank 1:20:43.4; 10 Vokuev Ermil RUS Russian Marathon Team 1:20:43.6

Women's Results
1 Johansson Norgren Britta SWE Lager 157 Ski Team 1:34:39.9; 2 Smutná Katerina CZE Bauer Ski Team 1:34:40.5; 3 Vikhagen Gjeitnes Kari NOR Team Santander 1:34:43.2; 4 Øyre Slind Astrid NOR Team Koteng 1:34:46.7; 5 Lindborg Sara SWE Team Serneke 1:34:59.0; 6 Korsgren Lina SWE ÅRE Längdskidklubb 1:35:13.5; 7 Vlasova Anastasiia RUS 1:36:27.8; 8 Kveli Laila NOR Team Tynell 1:37:09.5; 9 Jezersek Barbara AUS Bauer Ski Team 1:38:22.9; 10 Pollari Terhi FIN Team Mäenpää 1:39:11.6