Nordic Combined Awards - and the winners are...
© Romina Eggert

As every year, the Nordic Combined Awards taken place on the last evening of the season. The winners received their awards in a ceremony at Schonach's Haus des Gastes, which  also included a performance by the athlete band consisting of Bernhard Gruber and Ilkka Herola. The celebrations concluding the season 2018/19 continued with a set by DJ Marco Mzee.

10 international journalists from nine countroes, working for TV and online, voted on their personal favourites in five categories. New this year: a public vote, in which over 1000 fans selected their favourites completed the voting process with one additional vote in each category. Find the winners and the exact votes below:

Athlete of the Year:

Jarl Magnus Riiber 10 votes + public vote = 11

Tara Geraghty-Moats 10 votes + public vote = 11

Rookie of the Year:
Johannes Lamparter (AUT) 7 votes + public vote = 8
Jens Lurås Oftebro 3 votes

Coach of the Year:
Christoph Eugen / Christoph Bieler / Jochen Strobl 5 votes + public vote = 6
Kristian Hammer / Peder Sandell 3 votes
Hermann Weinbuch / Ronny Ackermann / Kai Bracht 1 vote
Takanori Kohno / Takashi Kitamura 1 vote

Moment of the Year
Ilkka Herola & Eero Hirvonen end an almost ten year streak without a victory for Finnish team in Lahti: 4 votes + public vote = 5
Eric Frenzel’s surprise gold medal coup in Seefeld 4 votes
Mario Seidl turns the TRIPLE on the last day 1 vote 

FIS Fairplay Award
Eero Hirvonen (FIN) - for his assistance with Bernhard Gruber's shoe problem during the team event at the FIS Nordic World Ski Championships Seefeld (AUT)

Unluckiest Athlete of the Year
Leevi Mutru (FIN)

Results Public vote