Flying ladies are starting the New Year

While the Ski Jumping men are getting there well deserved rest after the Four Hills Tournament the flying ladies are kicking off the New Year in Oberstdorf. For the first time the Ladies World Cup will be held on the HS 137 hill in the Erdinger Arena. Two single competitions are scheduled on Saturday and Sunday.

Two competitions on the big hill

The actions starts with the qualification on Friday. One year ago Sara Takanashi took both victories on the normal hill in Oberstdorf, Austria´s Daniela Iraschko-Stolz finished second twice. The third ranks went to Ema Klinec of Slovenia and Norway’s Maren Lundby. In 2015 the first edition of the FIS Ladies World Cup in Oberstdorf became a German-Austrian battle between Iraschko-Stolz and Olympic Champion Carina Vogt. The Austrian won twice ahead of the German lady. One week later, Vogt took her revenge - in Hinzenbach.

Tight on the top

This time the competition appears to be more open then in 2016. After Sara Takanashi won the opening events in Lillehammer the outstanding Japanese had to face her first defeat in Nizhny Tagil. Maren Lundby took her first World Cup victory, Takanashi finished third behind Daniela Iraschko-Stolz. The second competition brought Takanashi back to the top after a great comeback from fourth place after the first round. Still: It is getting tighter on the top, not even the best athletes can effort mistakes. Daniela Iraschko-Stolz might have used the Christmas break to take after some training sessions she had to leave out in summer due to injuries. Her teammate Jaqueline Seifriedsberger already got close to the top at the end of the year. Maren Lundby proofed her abilities to win in Russia, the Slovenian ladies, still without a podium this season, will might want to catch up with the World Cup leaders. Last but not least Sara Takanashi has some very descent competition in her own team. Yuki Ito finished second twice in Lillehammer.


Everything is ready for two great competitions in Germany.
6.1., 3.00 pm: Official Training and Qualification
7.1., 4.20 pm: Single Competition
8.1., 3.00 pm: Qualification, 4.20 pm: Single Competition